Skip to content

Adventures in Homeownership

September 14, 2011

I got home from work a little early today and decided that I would spend a little time cleaning up the kitchen. Josh usually does this, so I thought I’d surprise him and get it done before he got home. That was the plan, anyway.

I started running the dishwasher, then started cleaning out some leftovers from the fridge. When I began to run the disposal, both sinks began to fill with water and various sludgy partially ground leftovers. I hurriedly pulled everything out from under the sink to see if there was a leak in addition to a blockage. There was.

Why do these things always happen when I’m home alone?

I tried to call Josh. No answer. Panic ensued. I was just about to frantically call a plumber when Josh walked through the door. I usually try really hard not to annoy him with stuff just as he’s walking through the door, but I broke my cardinal rule and dragged him into the kitchen. He grabbed his flashlight and found the source of the leaks and the full sinks. He theorized there was a block in the u-bend.

He told me a plumber would cost $300. I had a heart attack.

He then said he could do it for $10. I miraculously recovered.

Josh changed clothes and got to work. While he worked, I said really helpful things like “There I was, sitting in the u-bend thinking about death” and “I thought you refused to do plumbing.”

Once the u-bend was off, and it was determined a giant wad of goo wedged in it was the source of the problem, I offered to stick my fingers in and clear the goo. I am not afraid of goo. Or giant hairballs. I was prepared for both. I was not prepared for what I found the goo and hairballs wrapped around.


Yep. A spoon handle. Just the handle. I have no idea how it got there. But at least I know why for months there has been a subtly bad smell coming from my drain. Things kept getting wrapped around the stupid thing until finally the u-bend had enough and decided to clog.

By the way, everything is reattached and working fairly well. And in case you’re wondering, I’m keeping the spoon handle as a souvenir. I’m thinking of having it bronzed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 11:24 pm

    You could try bending it ’round a mandrel (or a dowel of the correct size) and turning it into a ring.

  2. Kristina permalink
    September 15, 2011 1:30 am

    I’m wondering if it was a random spoon, or your spoon?

Leave a Reply

