Skip to content

Word of the Year

August 10, 2011

Every year at Christmas or shortly into January, Chris Giovagnoni, a blogger for Compassion International, puts out his annual call to the community to talk with God about a word that He is putting on their hearts for the coming year. This is the post for 2011.

I usually read these kinds of posts and think, “That’s not about me. How silly. I’m not going to do this.” And God got hold of my heart anyway and wouldn’t leave me alone until I talked to Him about it. So I did. And I did with a foolish thought that He wouldn’t come up with anything and I wouldn’t be challenged. And then He did. In about five seconds. My word for 2011 has been “daily.”

Now, given that it is 8 months into the year and I’m just now getting around to writing about it, you might see why “daily” is an issue for me. Perhaps the word should have been “diligence.” But, I digress.

I have always struggled with the mundane minutiae of every day living. From things like doing the dishes on a regular basis to the more important and complex issues of spending time with God in the Scriptures and through prayer. If there’s a routine element to it, I struggle. Case in point, there is a heap of ironing living on my favorite chair. It’s easier to sit on the sofa than do the ironing and get my chair back.

So much of my creative brain leaps at the chance to do something new, to create something new, to learn something new. I struggle with perseverance when I feel that I have “mastered” a thing. Or, at least mastered it enough that it no longer holds my attention.

God is strongly calling me to do more things “daily.” To be diligent in attending to those things that are necessary to a healthy life. And to keep doing them.

Do you have a word for the remaining 4 months of 2011? Or advice for a woman who likes the novel and struggles with the mundane?

God be with you this week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    August 16, 2011 9:12 pm

    Just this past week I read an article “Before you head out the door…” It says to do a 5 minute tidying sweep just before leaving because returning after work to a house that’s in complete disarray can ruin your evening, even if it is just putting dishes in the dishwasher, gathering up the newspapers, toys, putting shoes away…do something. We set a timer on the stove, devote 5 minutes to doing something even if it’s just making the bed and you’d be amazed what that 10 minutes combined from both of us each day can do. While you pick things up pray for that 5 minutes, even if it’s just being thankful for having stuff to pick or the ability to bend over to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

